Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

LEARNING COLLABORATIVE- COORDINATING CARE AND SAFETY FOR PATIENTS: Navigating the Intersection of Behavioral Health and Intimate Partner Violence

May 15 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Join Health Partners on IPV and Exploitation and the NCDVTMH for a 4-part learning collaborative focusing on the intersection of behavioral health, intimate partner violence (IPV), and mental health and substance use coercion.

Sessions will go from May 15 to June 5, 2024. They will be hosted via Zoom on Wednesdays at 12pm CST for 60 mins.

Deadline to Apply: Friday, April 26, 2024 – midnight at your local time zone

Learning Objectives:

As a result of this learning collaborative, participants will be better able to:

  1. Deepen their understanding of the intersection of IPV, mental health, and substance use coercion
  2. Use practices like CUES and Palm Cards with their patients
  3. Build meaningful partnerships with community-based program for referrals and care coordination
  4. List three strategies that can be used for providing holistic care to patients experiencing IPV, mental health and substance use coercion
  5. Recognize organizational policies, and individual level practices that support the long-term success for staff experiencing vicarious trauma 

Session Descriptions and Times:

Sessions will go from May 15, 2024 to June 5, 2024. They will be hosted via Zoom on Wednesdays at 8am HST/10am PST/11am MST/12pm CST/1pm EST for 60 mins.

  • Session 1: May 15, 2024
    • Introduction to coordinating care at the intersection of behavioral health, IPV, mental health and substance use.
  • Session 2: May 22, 2024
    • Defining the CUES intervention, palm cards on mental health coercion and substance use coercion
  • Session 3: May 29, 2024
    •  Panel on mental health & substance use coercion
  • Session 4: June 5, 2024
    •  Workplace wellness and organizational support
Faculty
  • Anna Marjavi, (she/her) Director, Health Partners on IPV + Exploitation, Futures Without Violence
  • Megha Rimal, (she/her) Program Specialist, Health Partners on IPV + Exploitation, Futures Without Violence
  • Amanda Lyon (she/her/ they/them), Training and Technical Assistance Specialist, National Center on Domestic Violence, Trauma, and Mental Health
Guest Speakers:
  • Sandra Brown, MA (she/her), Senior Advisor, Economic Security and Empowerment, Women’s Justice Institute
  • Janette Garcia (she/her), Training Manager, Healthy Alternatives to Violent Environments (HAVEN)

Notes: If you need any accommodations to best support your participation, let us know on the registration page by April 20, 2024.

We encourage all health centers and organizations to identify one staff member as the main applicant and submit one application per site. You may add multiple colleagues to this application.

If you have any questions please send an email to Megha Rimal at mrimal@futureswithoutviolence.org

Organizers

NCDVTMH
Health Partners on IPV and Exploitation